reviews

reviews

© copyright 2019 All rights reserved.

For AMPHORA:-

 

The Musician Spring 2018 - chosen as a top pick favourite:-

'In 2017 composer Helen Caddick premiered Amphora, inspired by the key 20th century avant-garde figure Jean Arp. In the spirit of the artist's dadaist style, Amphora is a true collage of styles which deserves repeated listening.'

'The performance was stunning and made the whole evening very special. The combination of music, voice and dance worked beautifully. I found it powerful and moving.' - Eric Robertson October 2017 Curator of Arp: Poetry of Forms exhibition at Turner Contemporary October 2017 - January 2018.

‘This is the second piece of music that I have heard from Helen and each time I have been moved by her music, by the way it transcends me into another dimension. Rarely do I experience so much emotion in a piece of music, her ability to capture ‘pure emotion’ within the context of a beautiful structure is a very special talent. In her music she has truly captured the feminine dimension, which I rarely hear. We hear much music expressed through the ‘male’ perspective, but not often do we have the opportunity to hear the essence of the ‘feminine’ expressed through music. Her music transcends the ordinary into something quite magical with its ethereal, spiritual qualities’. – Susan Redgrave 18 October 2017

'I was entranced by the music and performance and transported by it. You came up with such an interesting and unique starting point and translated those ideas brilliantly.' - Emma Clarke 14 Oct 2017

'Amphora - a magnificent work. It was astounding.' - Moya Stirrup 12 Oct 2017

'A profoundly beautiful and deeply moving piece.' - Jo Tonkin 12 Oct 2017

'It was great to see the responses to Helen's fabulous work at Turner Contemporary today. Very impressive and powerful, evocative, modern and original.' - Lala Borja  14 Oct 2017

For HAZE:- 'You have miraculously captured so much of the feel of the Thanet coast, and of Turner’s response to it.' - Ian Warrell - November 2016 - Curator of JMW Turner: Adventures in Colour exhibition at Turner Contemporary October 2016 - January 2017

'HAZE is an amazing achievement. I have been listening to Haze in my car today as I journeyed across a rather dank Kent, recalling the images in the film and the narrative that drew the paintings together and continually uncovering new colours in the music'. - Jo Tonkin January 2017

for 'Between sleeping and waking...fleeting scenes from imaginary films':- '...marvellous, perfect in every way...so emotive and delicate and at the same time so assured and strong. I loved every single piece.'- Wendy Robinson of 'The Popinjays'.

for 'Between sleeping and waking...fleeting scenes from imaginary films'. Helen's evocative piano playing gives rise to an innocent quietness. 'On a Summer's Evening' is a lovely piece, reminiscent of period drawing rooms. 'Love' meanwhile, is a touch darker and thoroughly more mature in its emphatic chords. The Musician Autumn 2015

helen caddick arrangements:

on ‘Something Like You’ from 'The Magical World of the Strands'

"Among the standouts is ‘Something Like You’, three and three-quarter minutes of languorous grace and charm. The string section floats along around the melody, neither carrying the song nor acting as unnecessary ornamentation” THE MAGICAL WORLD OF THE STRANDS - A GREAT LOST LIVERPOOL ALBUM

Steve Graves -  The Anfield Wrap // 9 January 2012 //TAW

“Try to listen to "Something Like You", the album’s best track... a tune from heaven and the best string arrangement I’ve heard since the Massive’s "Unfinished Sympathy". On reflection, perhaps the key to this album’s lush, comforting ambience is the way that Helen Caddick’s orchestrations treat the string quartet as a lead instrument; maybe that’s what makes it so timeless.”

Past archives – Shack

'The Magical World of the Strands' - (is) made up of “gorgeously illustrated songs … lushly orchestrated’ 'Something Like You', (is) so striking in (it’s) seductive, tenderness. The ghost of Drake is everywhere, floating in and hovering with the string section… outrageously large harmonic terrains" - Thom Jurek Allmusic review

"Sympathetic strings graze 'Something Like You' as it passes, never distracting the melody or dominating the mood. (The Magical World of the Strands is) an instrumentally beautiful record, totally idiosyncratic, rightly titled magical - alluding to a fantasy world beyond reality, or of heightened reality. 'Something like you' (is) liquid, sleepy, and impressionistic" megaupload.com + FANTASY blogspot

on ‘Here’s Tom with the Weather’ – track ‘Miles Apart’

“…the wistful "Miles Apart", bowls along on a near - 'Superfly' string score… this album will still be growing in beauty and stature years hence…”

Past archives - Shack

" 'Miles Apart', one of the handful of tracks written by John Head, contains a gorgeous string arrangement alongside achingly plaintive vocals".

Kate Lawrence - BBC Music review 2003

on 'Time Machine' (the)"strings give each of (Michael) Head's wry observations a swooning melancholy",...

Betty Clarke - the Guardian 21/12/07

on 'Time Machine' 'The hilights are many...their evolution towards a more textured, orchestrated sound on 2003's 'Here's Tome with the Weather' is emphatically captured on 'Mean't to Be' which employs scintillating mariachi brass and string sections that would not be out of place on Love's timeless masterpiece 'Forever Changes'. - Chris White BBC Music Review 2007